voice recognition software

I have decided to use voice recognition software in my writing process. Apparently windows seven has a three and quite advanced voice recognition software built in. I’m pretty excited about it to be honest because I think I can get more work done this way. As a matter of fact, I’m using it to write this Block Post. As you can see, there are few books to be worked out, but the software over time taylor’s itself to your voice. This is cool, since there’s a sense in which the program is learning your voice. Either way, I hope to have more block posts here that have been dictated via the recognition software. This was my first test I have made no corrections and no edits to this block of text. If nothing else, maybe we will get some humorous typos.

Replace “book” with “blog” and “three” with “free”. The software seems to have trouble learning the word “blog”. Oh well, more to come

~ by Marcus Todd on September 2, 2012.

2 Responses to “voice recognition software”

  1. Is it (perhaps) significant that the software will not recognize ‘blog,’ and offers up ‘book’ as a corrective? (A whole generation of writers struggling not with genre so much as form.) All best, C.

    • Certainly. Though I was putting this up as a fun little exercise, it seems right to say that the form of writing in this generation is very confused. What constitutes a good blog post? How does this differ from a good paper? Questions I haven’t really though about.

Leave a Reply

 
